Constantly Thinking

Our minds are constantly thinking and scanning, wanting something to satisfy it. Curiosity is what the brain craves. Whether it be wondering about hypothetical situations, or being excited about attending a birthday party coming up, or reworking a scenario in the past that you would redo if you had the chance; the brain needs something to dwell on.

I was at the gym the other day, trying to keep my brain present while on the elliptical. I was not listening to music because often the words make my mind wander, and recognizable songs take me to somewhere in my past. My eliptical was on the second story facing down so I could see everyone working out on the workout machines on the first floor. Out of the corner of my eye I saw a guy hitting a punching bag. He was strafing around the punching bag and jabbing it like he was practicing for a boxing match. The mind wanders – is this fellow a fighter? has he been in fights in the past? He has a regular build so he is probably too small to be training for a real match. I wonder if I encountered him in a fight would have any chance? He seems very aggressive. Is that really a good form of exercise?

I then look to the muted TV above me see a car commercial. Instantly I think about my car, my lease and how long I have left before I can purchase or lease another car. What car should I buy? What luxury car would I like to have someday? BMW, Lexus, Mercedes? Funny thing is, whatever I looked at, my mind was having its own conversation. Even the elliptical panel in front of me had all these different options, measurements, and statistics that made my mind start analyzing.

I can look at people, judge them, judge what they are doing. See a brand name, think about the company and what it does and what kind of products it makes. Look at charts or statistics and start analyzing my fitness. I finally settled on looking at one of the edges on the elliptical panel in front of me. No words, no symbols, no pictures. Just a rounded corner. Gray panel on a beige frame, nothing to judge, nothing to analyze, nothing to plan. Just a rounded corner and staying in the present, just being. If I get bored, no worries, I can be bored for a little bit if doing so will ultimately keep me calm and stress free.

Leave a Reply

